My Damascus Road Experience

A friend of mine relates the story when encountering a critic of the Faith;  You ask him, “Do you know everything there is to know?’  He may think he’s pretty darn smart, but he aint no fool, he says “NO.”  So you ask him, “Do you know half of everything there is to know?”  So he pauses a little longer but finally admits that he does not know half of everything there is to know.  Now the clincher;  “Is it possible that the knowledge of GOD is outside the half of everything that you do know?
I cannot prove to you that GOD exists, only He can prove Himself to you.  Because I have had a personal encounter with YHWH, the same God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, some may think that I am delusional simply due to their own lack of experience!  But I am in good company, because countless millions have had some kind of personal encounter with their Creator, and according to The Book that HE caused some of those people to pen every single one of us will have an abrupt encounter with HIM in the end if we don’t seek Him first.
Not so dramatic as Paul’s was my first encounter with The Creator, it was my Plymouth Road Experience.  By the time I finished High School under very unfavorable circumstances I have to admit that I did not know God, or that He even had a Son, but I found my self drawn by a friend to a tent revival of the Pentecostal persuasion.  Being an orphan and homeless I was somewhat beholden to my kind benefactors which had opened up their home to me and for all practical purposes adopted me as part of their family at the behest of their daughter, Karleen.  They had also known me as the foster son of said daughters Aunt some years before.
This tent revival was on some acres behind an old country church which seemed to draw many of the “hippie” generation to its door, so we found a place to hang out and meet new friends.  Personally I thought these people were a little bit crazy, especially when they
laid hands on me and started babbling “in unknown tongues.”  They mistakenly believed
my uncontrollable laughter while rolling on the floor was a sign of the Holy Spirit coming
upon me which only encouraged more of this insane behavior!  Was it the Holy Spirit?
Did something happen?  Yes, something did happen.  They did give me a Bible, and I began
to read it.
Plymouth Road runs from Detroit to Plymouth Michigan, it was this road which I walked from that country church to my adopted home while reading this Bible when I came across a verse:  A father of the fatherless, and a judge of the widows, [is] God in his holy habitation. (Psa 68:5)    I cannot convey to you in words the reality of the moment, but His Holy Spirit fell upon me and He offered me this adoption,  I accepted, terms
unknown, and my first prayer was that He would also adopt my brother and sister, the joy that filled that moment, I wanted them to have it too.  He answered that prayer.
A defining moment of my life.  To the skeptic only my imagination run amok – but they can never know unless they too are taken to that heavenly place where I am now content to remain.  But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us, Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;) And hath raised [us] up together, and made [us] sit together in heavenly [places] in Christ Jesus: (Eph 2:4-6)

Nicklas Arthur

This entry was posted in My Damascus Road Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Damascus Road Experience

  1. Thomas Glorius Jr says:

    What is the gospel of Christ ?

  2. Scott Raymond MacDonald Malueg says:

    I hope this not inappropriate as it is not a direct reply to your testimony but I did not find any direct e-mail address to write top you by. but I appreciate your work and you had invited comments, even challenges regarding doctrine etc..
    My comment is simply a reflection of three scripture passages, I just finished writing a couple of paragraphs that I must have mistakenly deleted by hitting the wrong key, or keys ? Any way considering the new moon sabbath, I was introduced to it about 10 years ago, I prayed and asked for wisdom concerning it. These scriptures came to mind: Gen 1:16 And God made two great lights; the greater light to rule the day, and the lesser light to rule the night: he made the stars also. 1Th 5:5 Ye are all the children of light, and the children of the day: we are not of the night, nor of darkness. Jas 1:16 Do not err, my beloved brethren. Jas 1:17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning. Tit 1:14 Not giving heed to Jewish fables, and commandments of men, that turn from the truth. 1Co 2:5 That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God. There seems to be a lot of variableness and shadow of turning in the new moon observation as opposed to a cycle : day one, day two …. Shabbat.
    We are more in agreement on most all else than otherwise. I would like to correspond via e-mail if you will, my e-mail address should be av available to you, I don’t know if this is a posted conversation, but I relate well with the exodus from modern type Egypt, we took ours in ’94
    when my wife suffered a close head injury due to an auto collision when she was broadsided by another driver who “didn’t see the red light” and she was threatened to go to jail if she did not sign a ticket over limited liability insurance… long story but God (Yahweh) is faithful
    Scott and family

    • I agree, this would have been better placed on my contact page where you will also can find my email address. However, to address your question I have been working on a post to specifically address the Sabbath question. Any one interested should subscribe so as not to miss it. Also check the Moonth Link on in my Bible Studies tab for starters. The Post I am working on now will actually be a preface to this earlier work. Pray for YAH’s wisdom for my effort.

Leave a Reply

